Environment, quality and safety

Airport Carbon Accreditation

The Airport Nouméa - La Tontouta is amongst the first airports in the Pacific to have received the ACA label (Airport Carbon Certification). The label has been created in 2009 by the ACI (Airports Council International).

This airport-specific international program allows to distinguish the efficiency of a carbon management plan based on 4 accreditation levels.

Level 1: the carbon imprint is verified by emission measurements realised under direct control of the airport (emission sources scope 1 and 2 of the GhG Protocol). The airport also has to show the management's commitment to reduce carbon emissions.

Level 2 : in addition to the requirements for level1, this level requires the creation of a carbon management plan including a fixed aim for the reduction of emissions. The airport has to proof that the category 1 and 2 emissions have been reduced, based on an average emission value for three years.

Level 3 : in addition to the requirements for level 2, the airport ha to proof that it has implemented a carbon management plan involving the stakeholders and that scope 3 carbon emissions have also been taken into consideration.

Level 3+ : in addition to the requirements for level 3, the airport has to achieve carbon neutrality for emission sources directly under its control (scopes 1 and 2).

Discover the different airport projects in the world labelled ACA.

Environnement, qualité et sécurité

Airport Carbon Accreditation

L'aéroport Nouméa-La Tontouta fait partie des premiers aéroports du Pacifique à avoir reçu le label Airport Carbon Accreditation (ACA), lancé en 2009 à l’initiative de l'ACI (Airports Council International).

Ce programme à dimension internationale et spécifique aux aéroports permet de distinguer la performance d’un plan de management du carbone selon 4 niveaux d’accréditation.

Niveau 1 : l’empreinte carbone est vérifiée pour les émissions sous le contrôle direct de l'aéroport (sources d'émissions de scope 1 et 2 du GhG Protocol). L’aéroport doit également démontrer un engagement de la direction en faveur de réductions des émissions.

Niveau 2 : outre les exigences du niveau 1, ce niveau requiert l’élaboration d'un plan de management du carbone assorti d'un objectif de réduction des émissions. L’aéroport doit démontrer qu’il a réduit ses émissions de carbone scope 1 et 2, par rapport à une moyenne glissante des émissions sur trois ans.

Niveau 3 : outre les exigences du niveau 2, l’aéroport doit démontrer la mise en œuvre  d'un plan de management carbone engageant les parties prenantes et élargir le calcul de l'empreinte carbone pour y inclure des émissions de scope 3.

Niveau 3+ : outre les exigences du niveau 3, l’aéroport doit parvenir à la neutralité carbone pour les sources d'émissions placées sous son contrôle direct (scopes 1 et 2).

Découvrez ici les différentes réalisations des aéroports accrédités ACA à travers le monde.